gothikmaus: (Snarry)
[personal profile] gothikmaus
I finished it today at work (thanks [livejournal.com profile] isiscolo for that link) and I must say it's my favourite book of the series so far.

A few comments, in no particular order:


  • Snape: throughout most of the book I thought he was going to die. At first I thought it would be Lupin, because of a series of totally innocent and unrelated LJ posts I had interpreted in the wrong way. I'd seen a post in [livejournal.com profile] lupin_snape that started with "THIS HAS THE BIGGEST SPOILER OF HARRY POTTER AND THE HALF BLOOD PRINCE!" and instantly thought "Fuck! It's either Snape or Lupin going this time." I also thought I saw a post with "how could JKR do that!" but I can't find it anywhere now, so that was probably my imagination. Then a fic post in [livejournal.com profile] pervy_werewolf that said "Lots of angst" and I was sure it was going to be Remus the one to die. But then, as I read on, I was more and more convinced it would be Snape because: a) Remus was nowhere to be seen, just mentioned here and there and b) what with all those allusions regarding Snape and death? If you break an Unbreakable Vow, you die; no DADA teacher lasted more than a year after Voldemort's last visit to Dumbledore etc. It may be a little too obvious, but I was still worried. And in chapter 29 I was totally expecting Snape to step between Draco and Dumbledore and die. When he said "Avada Kedavra" I couldn't believe my eyes! But I'm glad both he and Remus are still alive. And of course I believe he did that because he was following Dumbledore's orders. I mean, JKR can't be that mean.

    Also in Spinner's End there's no mention of Snape being greasy. But I found it quite funny that, as soon as Harry PoV is back, so is the greasiness.

  • The Half-Blood Prince: months ago I thought it may be Lupin, because JKR said in an interview that Lupin was a half-blood. But I wasn't really convinced. Then when Harry got the Potions book I was sure it was Snape, because who else would know that much about Potions and all those tricky little curses? When we found out the book had been printed 50 years before Harry's time I suspected the Prince might be Tom Riddle, but JKR had said he wasn't. So I assumed that maybe the book had been Riddle's and Snape had got it second hand because he couldn't afford a new one.

  • Tonks/Remus: a lot of people thought it was rushed and pointless, but I found them really sweet. What can I say, I have a soft spot for unrequited love and "I'm too old/poor/dangerous for you, you deserve better" kind of scenes. Also Tonks/Remus is one of the few het pairing I enjoy, along with Snape/Lily. And Lily being very good at Potions? Mmh, do I smell bunnies?

  • Snogging: I swear I'd never seen the word "snog" repeated so many times in a book. Everyone was snogging everyone! It was like reading a PG-13 fic, yay!

  • Voldemort's memories: I think Dumbledore showed them to Harry for more than one reason. To help him find the Horcruxes, yes, but also to better understand what made Voldemort the thing he's become and how different from him Harry is, even if their past histories are quite similar. Also, reading the last chapter, it occurred to me that he may have shown him those memories to make him understand that Snape isn't really evil, after all. Because yes, like Harry pointed out, there are similarities between Snape and Voldemort, but there must be something there that, if interpreted the right way, will open Harry's eyes. But of course Harry will be blind and want revenge. Perhaps Hermione will be able to see.

Well, that's it for the moment. I've read some wonderful comments and theories and added a few to my memories if you're interested. I'm particularly excited about Regulus and the locker at Grimmauld Place and the possibility that Mundungus may have smuggled it.

And now, let's wait for the fanfic and fanart to start flowing. I've just read a wonderful Snape/Lupin fic by [livejournal.com profile] arionrhod that took my breath away. Aww.

Date: 2005-07-18 09:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nyxalinth.livejournal.com
Wow.

You are one of very few people who actually like the book! The complaints I've heard have mostly revolved around JKR sounding like a fanfic writer (one conspiricist going as far as to accuse her of trolling the fanfic sites for ideas...), people being written wildly out of character (they thought Tonks went from strong and independant to whingy and stroppy over Lupin) and the scene between Harry and Ginny looking too much like scenes between Kirsten Dunst and Tobey MacGuire in both Spiderman movies.

I have not _yet_ read it, not all of it, so I am reserving judgement, still.

I really hope the bad press is exaggerated. I'd hate to think that JKR has gone the Bertrice Small and Laurel K. Hamilton route of 'I can publish whatever badly written crap I want and people will buy it because I'm rich and famous!' We'll see, I guess.

Date: 2005-07-18 09:26 pm (UTC)
ext_1611: Isis statue (rita)
From: [identity profile] isiscolo.livejournal.com
I swear I'd never seen the word "snog" repeated so many times in a book. Everyone was snogging everyone! It was like reading a PG-13 fic, yay!

God yes, I thought this too!

And unlike what [livejournal.com profile] nyxalinth says, most of my flist loved it. And so did I.

Date: 2005-07-18 11:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harleen.livejournal.com
most of my f-list did not like it either...you are the first one who did.

I don't know...I feel it read like bad fanfiction, and I am really upset about what happens with Snape. at least he is alive...

I was also upset about Bill. I dislike Fleur intensely, and the way he was mutilated...*shudders*

just my opinion, of course...!

Profile

gothikmaus: (Default)
gothikmaus

March 2026

S M T W T F S
123456 7
8910 11121314
15161718 192021
222324252627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios