gothikmaus: (H50 - Steve *facepalm*)
[personal profile] gothikmaus
Guess what I did yesterday!

incendio


No, I didn't set stuff on fire, I was there to take pictures for the newspaper. The issue was pretty much ready and we were just about to go home, when we got a phone call telling us there was a thick column of smoke coming from the direction of the local mall. We couldn't see it from our windows, so I went down in the street and saw it. I left my colleague in the office to deal with phone calls (local police, fire brigade etc), hopped into my car and went. My dad called me and said the smoke was coming from the local power plant, but as I was getting closer I realised it couldn't be there: I'd have to turn left to go to the power plant, whereas the column of smoke was on the right. So it must have been somewhere in the "industrial district". Turns out I was right: there was a fire in a warehouse, the street officially belongs to the town nearby, but it's just a few meters away from where our town starts.

So, yeah, instead of going to the gym, I spent my evening dealing with this. Every radio station and information website was talking about it and it even ended up on national TV. But I got really mad at something I read on the website of "Corriere della Sera", which is supposed to be the most important Italian newspaper. Because the warehouse belonged to Chinese people, they instantly assumed there was something illegal going on. An article on their website said "About 10 Chinese people ran away. Surely they were trying to escape from the police because their business was not legal and probably their passports weren't valid either." Excuse me? I would run away too if the building I'm in was on fire! WTF? Someone should remind this "journalist" that, while some Chinese businesses are indeed far from legal, so are a lot of Italian ones. And that they could be sued for implying something like that. I write for a small local newspaper, but everyone is very professional and we're always extremely careful about what we write and how we write it. This is just one of the many reasons why I despise most Italian journalists.

Date: 2012-09-21 11:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gyri.livejournal.com
Wow, that's horrible. I seem to recall reading a number of British publications that editorialized in such a way (they may not all have been hard news, in fact a few were celebrity-related, but still....the reporter made similar inferences without bothering to check facts).

Here, that is a hallmark of sleezy tabloids, but any respected news reporter who pulled something like that would be publicly tarred and feathered, along with the newspaper he/she represented.

Date: 2012-09-21 01:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gothikmaus.livejournal.com
Sadly, now even the most "respected" newspapers do stuff like that, the quality of journalism has gone down a lot in the last years.

Date: 2012-09-21 03:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] urania-chan.livejournal.com
Yikes, that article sounds pretty, well, not good. :/ Would not be surprised to see this in some German newspapers though. It always frustrates me what kind of knee-jerk reaction some people still have.

Date: 2012-09-21 03:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gothikmaus.livejournal.com
I wouldn't be surprised to see such lines in some newspapers, but seeing what used to be a serious and respected newspaper publish stuff like that (even if it's just the online version) makes me really sad.

Date: 2012-09-21 03:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] urania-chan.livejournal.com
Yeah, very true. :( I hope people write them to tell them that that's not ok...

Date: 2012-09-21 03:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gothikmaus.livejournal.com
I doubt it. And even if they did, it wouldn't change anything. :(

Date: 2012-09-21 07:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angrylogic.livejournal.com
Lol, on mobileLJ, all I could see of this post was "Look what I did yesterday" and that picture! XD

Ugh, every time something dramatic happens, the first thought always seems to be terrorists or illegal activity. Is it too much to assume that accidents still happen?

Date: 2012-09-22 08:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gothikmaus.livejournal.com
Hahaha, did you think I'd turned into a pyromaniac? :D

I wouldn't be surprised to see such a comment on certain newspapers, but apparently even the "serious" ones have lowered their standards. :(

Profile

gothikmaus: (Default)
gothikmaus

March 2026

S M T W T F S
123456 7
8910 11121314
15161718 192021
222324252627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 11:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios