Today I spent an outrageous amount of money, but now I have a shiny new laptop! It's the first laptop I've actually owned, all the other ones I've used so far were work-laptops. It's a HP Pavilion DV6 and I named it Noir. Not very original, I know, but I wanted something elegant and mysterious and that's the first name I thought of. (Ironically, my mother suggested Noir as well. OMG, am I starting to think like my mother!?)
I also bought an external hard drive and will copy all my data on it in the next days. Then I'll install a few programs and my graphic tablet on the laptop, but I may need to download a newer driver for it, since I'm using XP on my desktop PC. And then, if everything works, I should be all set. I hope Vista isn't so horrible as everyone says... =/
And what's happening in Berlin!? They decided they need to change the brakes on 3/4 of the S-Bahn trains right now? I hope the situation will be better by the time I'm there...
I also bought an external hard drive and will copy all my data on it in the next days. Then I'll install a few programs and my graphic tablet on the laptop, but I may need to download a newer driver for it, since I'm using XP on my desktop PC. And then, if everything works, I should be all set. I hope Vista isn't so horrible as everyone says... =/
And what's happening in Berlin!? They decided they need to change the brakes on 3/4 of the S-Bahn trains right now? I hope the situation will be better by the time I'm there...
no subject
Date: 2009-09-09 08:23 pm (UTC)I'm having a lot of trouble getting my graphics tablet to configure on Vista. It's not applying the correct pressure, even though it's running with Vista drivers :\ I can't get it to paint properly in Photoshop of Manga Studio at all (the lines are there, but they have no pressure sensitivity and just look like big fat splats D:). Vista is just pish all over though - can't wait until I can apply for my free Windows 7 upgrade (while I hope and pray it will accept my bought programs so I don't have to spend a buttload buying new versions full of features I don't want).
no subject
Date: 2009-09-10 09:17 am (UTC)I don't have a free Windows 7 upgrade, I think it was only available for desktops, not laptops. =/
no subject
Date: 2009-09-10 11:49 am (UTC)Vista does my tits in u_u It's completely geared up to be an entertainment platform. I don't care how shiny it is or how the windows fly about my screen! It recognises programs that run on Windows 95 but won't let me use half of my XP programs! Very annoying X( I'm hoping Windows 7 is less cluttered too. Too many useless features in Vista.
no subject
Date: 2009-09-10 08:43 pm (UTC)I haven't installed all the stuff I need yet, but Photoshop 7 works fine and the Nikon program I use to view RAW files does too. Now it only takes 10 seconds to turn a RAW file into a JPEG image, while with my desktop it takes 5 minutes! ;__;
no subject
Date: 2009-09-10 09:28 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-09-10 09:55 am (UTC)