I didn't go to the concert on last Saturday, but I saw Afterhours last night. I'd never seen them live before (*cough*Ididn'tevenknowthelyrics*cough*), but the concert was quite good. Demi's boyfriend told us we were lucky, the singer is very moody and gets annoyed easily, sometimes they play for 45 minutes and then just walk away. Insulting the audience. Last night they seemed to be in a good mood though, it was the last concert of the tour, so maybe they wanted to leave a good impression.
Anyway, the mood was ruined when Demi told me she'd heard a few people complain about the Master's I want to attend, saying it was badly organised and that she thought I should look for something else. Damn. Maybe it's just because it's a new course and the first year there are always problems, I hope it'll be better next year. I'm going to the interview in January anyway, I don't want to give up on this, I really don't. She also said "Why don't you go abroad then? Go to Germany!" Well, as much as I'd love to go abroad, I don't have any kind of practical experience in that field, that's why I want to attend this course, to see what it's like from the inside. And then, when I have some experience, I'll think of going abroad.
And in the meantime I'll try to improve my German, which is quite awful at the moment. All right, that's not true, I was one of the best of my class in the course I did in Berlin last summer (typical scene: "Does anyone know what this mean? No one? I'm sure Alex does" :P), but I'm fucking scared of talking in German. Which is stupid, I know, just like I know the only way of overcoming my fear is to actually speak. Being in Berlin on my own helped a lot, even if there were times when I simply gave up and talked in English, because it would have taken me an hour to say what I wanted to say in German. =/
But the night ended on a more positive note. Little premise: there are a few bands I've heard of from people on my flist, or read about on magazines, but I've never actually listened to their songs. Sometimes I discover them by pure chance and think "Oh, that's what all the fuss was about!" Well, last night I finally heard a song by a band I've read much about and that I've been wanting to listen to for some time.
I was driving home with Radio Rock FM on and at one point I heard a song in German, which was very surprising, as the only German band who sings in German known in Italy is Rammstein and that was obviously not a Rammstein song. (All right, there was "Ein, zwei Polizei" too, but that was a looong time ago. :P)
I turned up the volume and tried to make out the lyrics, I'd missed the whole first strophe, but I could clearly understand this:
Ich geb euch Liebe
Ich geb euch Hoffnung
I liked the song very much and was very curious to know who the band was, then the chorus came on:
Gott ist ein Popstar!
And I said "Fuck, that's OOMPH!" I was shocked, I'd never thought I'd listen to them on an Italian radio station. And when the song was over, "Amerika" by Rammstein came on. So weird, two German songs in a row. Maybe if Ipester ask nicely they'll play Die Ärzte as well? *big shiny Puss in Boots eyes*
And I dreamed Danny Young was playing in our band and I accidentally met him in my garage. My brain is seriously messed up. XD And while I'm talking about Los Helmstedt...
Damn you for being so damn cute, Olsen!
marcofu_114.JPG)
marcofu_136.JPG)
marcofu_138.JPG)

And a bit of vague slashiness
marcofu_147.JPG)
marcofu_148.JPG)
marcofu_149.JPG)
*sigh*
Anyway, the mood was ruined when Demi told me she'd heard a few people complain about the Master's I want to attend, saying it was badly organised and that she thought I should look for something else. Damn. Maybe it's just because it's a new course and the first year there are always problems, I hope it'll be better next year. I'm going to the interview in January anyway, I don't want to give up on this, I really don't. She also said "Why don't you go abroad then? Go to Germany!" Well, as much as I'd love to go abroad, I don't have any kind of practical experience in that field, that's why I want to attend this course, to see what it's like from the inside. And then, when I have some experience, I'll think of going abroad.
And in the meantime I'll try to improve my German, which is quite awful at the moment. All right, that's not true, I was one of the best of my class in the course I did in Berlin last summer (typical scene: "Does anyone know what this mean? No one? I'm sure Alex does" :P), but I'm fucking scared of talking in German. Which is stupid, I know, just like I know the only way of overcoming my fear is to actually speak. Being in Berlin on my own helped a lot, even if there were times when I simply gave up and talked in English, because it would have taken me an hour to say what I wanted to say in German. =/
But the night ended on a more positive note. Little premise: there are a few bands I've heard of from people on my flist, or read about on magazines, but I've never actually listened to their songs. Sometimes I discover them by pure chance and think "Oh, that's what all the fuss was about!" Well, last night I finally heard a song by a band I've read much about and that I've been wanting to listen to for some time.
I was driving home with Radio Rock FM on and at one point I heard a song in German, which was very surprising, as the only German band who sings in German known in Italy is Rammstein and that was obviously not a Rammstein song. (All right, there was "Ein, zwei Polizei" too, but that was a looong time ago. :P)
I turned up the volume and tried to make out the lyrics, I'd missed the whole first strophe, but I could clearly understand this:
Ich geb euch Liebe
Ich geb euch Hoffnung
I liked the song very much and was very curious to know who the band was, then the chorus came on:
Gott ist ein Popstar!
And I said "Fuck, that's OOMPH!" I was shocked, I'd never thought I'd listen to them on an Italian radio station. And when the song was over, "Amerika" by Rammstein came on. So weird, two German songs in a row. Maybe if I
And I dreamed Danny Young was playing in our band and I accidentally met him in my garage. My brain is seriously messed up. XD And while I'm talking about Los Helmstedt...
Damn you for being so damn cute, Olsen!

And a bit of vague slashiness
*sigh*
no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 04:05 pm (UTC)And your German is great! I don't know what your spoken German is like, but your written German is practically flawless. I wouldn't even notice at first that you're not a native speaker if I did. You have better grammar and spelling than some *Germans*-sad but true.;)
Ha ha ha, I remember "Eins, zwei, Polizei". Such deep lyrics.:)
no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 04:06 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 04:18 pm (UTC)Well, I find writing in German much easier than talking because I have more time to think of what I want to say, when I speak in German I'm sooo slooow. =/ But I guess that if I want to improve I'll just have to practice, won't I? *sigh*
And damn, my boss is sitting right in front of me and it's so difficult to keep a serious face while I'm looking at those pics! *squees discreetly*
no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 04:43 pm (UTC)LOLz, when my father heard "Gott ist ein popstar", he thought it was, ehm, Bela. X) And he likes the song a lot now Oo (well, I also like it, but, my father? liking Oomph!?)
And the pics are damn nice! Damn that Marco for having so many pics on his page!! *goes and looks at the pics*
no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 04:54 pm (UTC)I was really shocked when I heard the song on the radio yesterday. And then I thought, why Rammstein and Oomph and not DÄ??? =/
no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 06:14 pm (UTC)Thanks! :D I'm afraid Farin and Cindia aren't very slashy though(but so nice anyway XD).
Yeah :\ Same here, why a band like Tokio Hotel is known now in France and not die Ärzte, which are SOOOOOOOOOO much better, funnier, better-looking and more awesome than these teenies? Hm? Why? But we already got to talk about them anyway ;)
no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 08:26 pm (UTC)Haha, talking about Tokio Hotel, my friend Stefano, the one who was with me in Düsseldorf, said the same thing the first time he saw a pic of Bela and the first time he saw a pic of Bill: "Who's that girl?"
Poor thing, I'm still making fun of him because of that, he'll never hear the end of it. XD
no subject
Date: 2006-12-04 08:45 pm (UTC)And that smiley + icon make me LOL XD
Yes they are! Definitely!! I think I'm definitely for Farin + bassists now. Silly me!!
no subject
Date: 2006-12-05 02:13 pm (UTC)*cough*I'mabassist*cough*
no subject
Date: 2006-12-05 12:59 am (UTC)I also feel a lot more comfortable writing German (well, and French and Swedish too) than speaking it, but I've gotten a little less shy over the years. I know I make a ton of mistakes when I speak, and I catch myself making them, and it's annoying, but the only way to get better is to practice ;)
no subject
Date: 2006-12-05 09:20 am (UTC)