I'm a language geeeeek
Aug. 9th, 2006 12:05 pmOh my God, nonono. I'm starting to mix up English and German like when I was in school! >_< Which could be positive, because my German was far better back then, I read an essay I wrote in my 4th year and was surprised at how good I was (there were some typos and grammar mistakes but, hey, nobody's perfect.) So maybe it means my German is finally getting better again. On the other hand it's bloody annoying and very confusing, forming a sentence in a language and catching yourself using words from another one. I mean, shouldn't I mix up English and Italian? Or German and Italian. My main language is ITALIAN! Got it, brain? I-TA-LIAN. Daaamn. And then I mix up Italian with Milanese dialect. *headdesk* I suppose that's because English and German have much more in common with each other than with Italian, which has a very strong Latin influence. And I want to learn Japanese as well... *shakes head*
Anyway! Enough with language geekyness! I have something for
schwimmerin, who, by the way, may be the only one on my flist who finds my language geekyness sort of interesting. ;) Here's your icon!

I was late for work this morning and forgot the CD with the .mpg video of Sumisu at home, so I used the one I found on Youtube, the quality was quite good. I hope you like it, let me know if you want something else on it. :) (And sorry for the other day when I was on Messenger, I must have sounded weird, but I was trying to chat and look for Bela pics on the bela-b forum at the same time. Not a good idea, my IQ always shrinks when Bela's involved. :P)
Also, if someone else wants to use it, please ask her before taking it. Thanks.
And yesterday I finally recorded the last episode of Ai Shite Knight! AKA Kiss me Licia or Rock'n'Roll Kids or whatever it was called in other countries. I recorded the whole series 4 or 5 years ago, but I was in Greece during the last week it was aired, so I programmed the VCR and asked my dad to put in a new videocassette when the previous one was full. Yes, I had calculated everything. What I didn't know, though, was that on one Saturday afternoon there was another program and the cartoon would be aired an hour later. And the last episode was on that Saturday. I was so sad and angry when I got home. :( But I knew they always have reruns in summer, I would just have to wait. And now the wait is over and I have the whole series! Yes! It's all mine, my prrreciousssss...
Uhm. All right, let's see if I can finally write something now. Or maybe I should wait after lunch. Yes, let's just waste another half hour, after all almost everyone's on holiday and there's nothing to do. God, I love August.
Anyway! Enough with language geekyness! I have something for
I was late for work this morning and forgot the CD with the .mpg video of Sumisu at home, so I used the one I found on Youtube, the quality was quite good. I hope you like it, let me know if you want something else on it. :) (And sorry for the other day when I was on Messenger, I must have sounded weird, but I was trying to chat and look for Bela pics on the bela-b forum at the same time. Not a good idea, my IQ always shrinks when Bela's involved. :P)
Also, if someone else wants to use it, please ask her before taking it. Thanks.
And yesterday I finally recorded the last episode of Ai Shite Knight! AKA Kiss me Licia or Rock'n'Roll Kids or whatever it was called in other countries. I recorded the whole series 4 or 5 years ago, but I was in Greece during the last week it was aired, so I programmed the VCR and asked my dad to put in a new videocassette when the previous one was full. Yes, I had calculated everything. What I didn't know, though, was that on one Saturday afternoon there was another program and the cartoon would be aired an hour later. And the last episode was on that Saturday. I was so sad and angry when I got home. :( But I knew they always have reruns in summer, I would just have to wait. And now the wait is over and I have the whole series! Yes! It's all mine, my prrreciousssss...
Uhm. All right, let's see if I can finally write something now. Or maybe I should wait after lunch. Yes, let's just waste another half hour, after all almost everyone's on holiday and there's nothing to do. God, I love August.
no subject
Date: 2006-08-09 04:20 pm (UTC)And I share your language geekyness. I mix up languages, too, it's annoying. I find it helps to study the same vocabulary in all languages at the same time. Like, when I learn a word in French/something else that I don't know in German/whatever, I look it up and study them at the same time.
no subject
Date: 2006-08-10 08:04 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-08-09 07:58 pm (UTC)And no worries about messenger, I didn't even notice (and I love the new bat in your name, it's so cute *teehee*).
Also, I mix up my languages all the time. Usually I add French or German when I'm trying to speak Swedish, or Swedish when I'm trying to speak German or French. But when I came back from living in Germany I definitely spelled English words starting with a c with a k instead (like klass) and for the longest time I wanted to write schock instead of shock XD Of course, it doesn't help that I have a weak grasp on proper preposition use in all the languages I speak, including English, haha.
no subject
Date: 2006-08-10 08:36 am (UTC)Haha, I don't know how you're supposed to spell shock in Italian, some spell it the English way, others the French way, "choc", but if you want to say "shocked" you can also use an italianized spelling, "scioccato". It's such a mess with foreign words. XD
And I'm glad you like the icon! :D My vampire!Bela icon says hello to your vampire!Farin icon. ;)