gothikmaus: (ROCK ON)
[personal profile] gothikmaus
Oh boy, I had so much fun last night. I went to a karaoke bar with a few friends and it was just as kitsch as we imagined it would. We were the loudest table, always cheering and clapping when one of us was singing. I sang "Sei bellissima" by Loredana Bertè together with Elena, which is sort of an inside joke for us. I realised too late that I didn't really remember the beginning, but I managed to sing it all anyway. The acoustics was crap and I couldn't hear myself through most of the song, but it wasn't so bad for my first time in a karaoke. It was better than I thought, actually. Vica (who has a very nice voice and sang "Flashdance" and "Don't speak") was quite impressed and said "You've got one hell of a voice! I didn't know it could be so high." And I replied "Well, neither did I." I was surprised I could get the high notes without going out of tune, but that's probably because I could barely hear myself sing, so I sang much louder than I usually do. I'm usually afraid of bringing out my voice for fear of singing off key (and if you don't bring out you voice, you will be off key), but last night I sang without worrying too much, we were there just for fun in the end.

Too bad the night ended in a less than pretty way, we were walking to my car when a guy walked up to us, he had blood smeared all over his head and told us he needed to make a phone call. Stefano had seen two policemen a couple of streets away and told him to go to them if he needed help, but he kept following us and saying he needed a phone. We changed direction a few times and he eventually went to bother someone else, but man, it was scary. And the street where we had left our cars was full of male prostitute, all African. We'll definitely have to find another place if we want to have another karaoke night. o__O

Date: 2006-05-13 02:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] schwimmerin.livejournal.com
I LOVE KARAOKE!!

Except I always go Korean style, which is private rooms rather than a bar ;) it's a little less intimidating, you only embarrass yourself in front of your friends instead of other random people XD

Date: 2006-05-13 02:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gothikmaus.livejournal.com
Yeah, that's the Japanese way too. There are only karaoke bars here, no private rooms, so we had to embarass ourselves in front of other people. :P But it was fun, maybe we'll do that again. But definitely in another place. o__O

Date: 2006-05-13 02:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] schwimmerin.livejournal.com
XD Yeah, see, my best friend is Korean so we can actually go to Korean karaoke places and she negotiates with them and so on ;) I always have no clue what is going on. Although she will teach me some Korean this summer in exchange for me teaching her some German, yay!

And I hope you find a better place that's not quite so sketchy...

Profile

gothikmaus: (Default)
gothikmaus

March 2026

S M T W T F S
123456 7
8910 11121314
15161718 192021
222324252627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios